Ayr Burners Cycling

Sportive, Cyclocross, Youth, Adventure

Martin and Millar take top titles at the 8th Doonbank Trofee

Ayr Burners Cycling played host to the second round of the 2022 Scottish Super Quaich Cyclocross Series on Sunday. The 8th edition of the Doonbank Trofee was run in near perfect conditions, with light winds, dry skies, and relatively firm ground (for Rozelle anyway).

Thanks to support from members of Walkers Cycling, the course build on Saturday went smoothly.

The first event of the day was the U12 fun-ride, with over 40 children registered.

U12s on the start line

Next was the ‘B’ race, incluiding the women’s event.

Karly Millar denied Roslynn Newman a hat-trick in the event, just managing to squeeze an extra lap in. Alicia Lawson took 3rd.

In the open B race Eddie Addis built up a healthy lead over chasers Kenny Kentley and Derek Hughes.

The open ‘A’ race started in dramatic fashion with a fall on the line by eventual winner Lewis Martin. By lap two he had regained control and passed David Lines and Chris Hinds who took 2nd and 3rd respectively.

Check out excellent photos and blog of the event from Scott Armour at https://www.inview-images.co.uk/scottish-super-quaich-round-2-doonbank-trofee/

Further images and information will appear via our facebook pages at https://www.facebook.com/AyrBurnersCycling

Full results are on the SportHive website – thanks to Martin Harris for providing the timing

As always, thanks to our supporters including QTS, Advertisign, Savoy Park Hotel. To our helpers including EFAR First Aid, The Espresso Kart, Pedal Motion and the Scottish Cycling Commissaire team.

We are grateful to South Ayrshire Council for use of Rozelle Park – and hope to be back next year!

CJG14 • January 24, 2022

Previous Post

Next Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published / Required fields are marked *